Sick Days & Running When Under the Weather

Today is my first day back at work since Monday… I’ve been home sick, exploring our Hulu account, eating soup and toast, and painting my nails.

photo 1

Ramen noodles and buttered toast, sick food at its finest!

photo 2

Experimenting with some nail art!

One thing that I didn’t do was push myself to do more exercise than my body could handle while fighting off this cold.  This is a HUGE deal for me because I am one of those runners that struggles with guilt when I skip or miss a planned run.  I’m not going to lie, when I woke up on Tuesday morning feeling sick and TIRED my first reaction was still to just pull myself out of bed and get out on the road.  Luckily, the rational side on my brain took over and I pulled the covers back over me and slept for 3 more hours!

It has taken me awhile to learn how to determine when to run and when to rest when I’m sick.  The rule of thumb that I think everyone may have heard of already is that it is generally fine to run if all your symptoms are “above the neck”.  But if you have any symptoms in your chest or have a fever its better for your body to take a rest day.

For one of the first times in my life, I actually listened to this advice! I did hop on the elliptical on Tuesday and went for an easy run Wednesday because I was feeling better but didn’t want to risk spreading my cold to co-workers.  I can say for a fact that I feel much better today than I would have if I had continued along with my scheduled runs.

I hope I can remember that the next time I get sick!

Do you have a hard time taking a day off when you are sick?

Any advice on alternate workouts when you are feeling a little under the weather but still can’t run?

6 thoughts on “Sick Days & Running When Under the Weather

  1. this is such am important thing! to be able to when you can “sweat” it out, and when you need a rest. i’ve done both and been wrong, and i’ve done both and been right. it’s not always easy to tell, it really does take listening to your body. if i’m feeling like i can’t run but still want some exercise i’ll opt for some light stretching based yoga. it ALWAYS does the trick for me.

Leave a Comment Here!

