Puppy Grooming, Catching Fire, and Patriots’ Football

I can’t believe that this was the last weekend before the Christmas season is officially in full swing! Don’t get me wrong, we have been listening to our fair share of Christmas music but all the decorating, gift shopping, and cookie baking will start in earnest next week.

We enjoyed the last opportunity to have a semi-lazy weekend before all the craziness starts!

On Saturday morning we both woke up on the early side.  I had a long run date with a friend and Henri had to head out to help his dad with a construction project that he is working on.

On my way home from my 10-miler I made a pit stop at Panera for my favorite bagel and cream cheese combination (pumpkin pie bagel with honey walnut cream cheese).

photo 3 (29)

When the cashier scanned my Panera Card he told me that I had a free drink – SCORE! Without having to think about it I added a cappuccino to my order.

photo 1 (31)

I brought my treats home and enjoyed them while doing some work on the computer. By the way, I am obsessed with Panera’s holiday cups. They are just so adorable.

I took the pups to the dog park and then dropped them off for their grooming appointment.

photo (6)

photo (7)

I got a lot of errands done during the afternoon and then we patiently waited for Henri to get home while catching up on Glee and snuggling on the couch!

photo 2 (33)

After Henri got home from working we had a quick dinner of breakfast pizza then headed straight to the movie theater to see Catching Fire.

photo 3 (30)

I am a huge fan of the Hunger Games books (I read all three in one week!) and this movie did not disappoint! It was really true to the book and did a great job of conveying all of the characters’ inner thoughts and feelings! SO GOOD!

On Sunday we slept in, ate chocolate chip pancakes, bought some Thanksgiving outfits at Target, went to church, scoped out possible new apartments (we might be moving), and then came home and crashed! I did a lot of reading and Henri played some video games.

photo 3 (32)

We ended the weekend on a perfect note – Thai take-out (Pad Thai and Shrimp Egg Rolls of course)…

photo 1 (34)

some pumpkin and chocolate froyo (with Christmasy sprinkles!!)…

photo 1 (35)

and the Patriots on Sunday Night Football! It was the most exciting football game I’ve seen recently – they came back from 24-0 at the half to WIN!! GO PATS!

photo 5 (30)

I cannot wait for the Christmas celebrations to begin next weekend, but this was the perfect weekend spent recharging and gathering ourselves for the busy month ahead!

How many Christmas parties do you have over the next month?

We have 4 – and we are hosting 1 of those!

What was the best part of your weekend?

If you saw Catching Fire, what was your favorite part of it?

12 thoughts on “Puppy Grooming, Catching Fire, and Patriots’ Football

  1. My favorite part of the weekend was hearing the air horn signaling the end of my 24 hour running ultra. I have only done 4 of them but I had never stayed till the end because I had always met my goal and left (2 months ago left at 21 hours because I completed 92.7miles). I fell short of my 100 mile goal (only 89.5) but battled snow flurries, single digits (real feel) and up to 35 mph wind gusts. I love reading blogs while recovering on the couch!

  2. I really never have the attention span for movies, but I can’t wait to see the new Catching Fire! I am hoping to get there this weekend.. I’m an old lady on weekdays and by the time I’m home from work and eaten dinner, there is no way I could last through a movie, ‘specially if I’m not watching it from on my couch. 🙂

  3. Pad Thai is my FAVE Asian style food!! That looks so good! 🙂
    And yay for your 10 miler! 🙂 And for seeing Catching Fire. I’m so jealous! I haven’t seen it yet and I’m dying….
    That Sunday night game was SO intense! OVERTIMEEE! LOL so awesome!

Leave a Comment Here!

