2014 Goals

Happy 2014 Everyone!

2014 Goals

Over the past week or so I have taken time to reflect on the past year and look forward to consider all the things that I want to accomplish in this next year.  In the past I have made a big resolution like “go to the gym 4 times every week”.  As soon as I missed the mark I would give up and not even go to the gym twice a week.  It wasn’t a very productive way of doing things.

This year I’m taking a new approach! Instead of resolutions I put together a list of small, measurable, and achievable goals that I can work towards throughout the whole year! (Sorry that there aren’t many pictures – just a LOT of words!)
Running

  • Run 3,000 miles or more throughout the year – This equates to a weekly average of 57.7 miles. Since I’ll most likely be spending 30 weeks of the year in marathon training (15 for Boston, and 15 for a fall marathon) I think I’ll definitely be able to meet this goal!
  • PR in the marathon (maybe even go sub-3 hours!) – I really want to run a sub-3 hour marathon but this year will be my first time running Boston and that course can really beat up your legs. My goal at Boston is to PR (even if its by a few seconds) and to learn how to race there. If I end up racing a fall marathon I would like to run a fast course where I have a good chance to go sub-3! We’ll see what the year holds! 🙂
L.A. Marathon Walk

I would also like to finish a marathon with out doing any of this… I want to RUN the whole thing!

  • Complete my first 10K and half-marathon races – I’m one of those crazy people that went straight from running 5Ks to running the marathon.  I wouldn’t have it any other way but I think its about time that I raced a 10K and a half-marathon.  I’m already registered for a 10K in January but haven’t locked in on a half yet.

Health/Fitness

  • Don’t step on a scale for the entire year – In the past I have been too concerned with the number on the scale rather than how I’m feeling.  I want to be more focused on my fitness and race performance than on how much I weigh. I order to help me to do this I don’t want to weigh myself for the entire year of 2014!
  • Eat more vegetables – I really love fruit and do a great job of eating of them but veggies are harder for me. I like them cooked rather than raw, which makes it hard to carry them around as a snack.  Maybe I’ll solve this by eating a salad everyday! (I wouldn’t complain about that…) 🙂

Chicken Salsa Salad

  • Be able to do 30 push-ups and 5 pull-ups at one time by the end of the year – I like to have other fitness goals that don’t resolve around race times. That way I’m motivated to do the weight lifting and cross-training that will make me a better runner.  Push-ups and pull-ups are something you can do anywhere so I won’t be have any excuses not to work on them. I’ve always wanted to be able to do pull-ups – and I think this is my year to do it!

Blog

  • Continue to post at least 6 days per week – I believe that one of the most important parts of having a successful blog is consistency. For me, this means posting every day because I need something to be part of my daily routine for it to be a consistent habit!
  • Build up my readership, followers, and relationships with other bloggers – I would really like to dive into the blog world this year! I hoping to go to a blogger convention sometime in 2014. I’m not really sure how to find something like that so if you have any advice I’d love the help!
  • Become a FitFluential Ambassador – I really enjoy reading the posts that many other bloggers do as a part of their relationship with FitFluential and I would love to be a part of that program as well. I hope to meet their goals for acceptance by June 2014!

Financially

  • Track expenses and build a realistic budget that follows the 50-30-20 rule – I recently learned of the 50-30-20 rule of budgeting where 50% of your total income goes towards paying for needs, 30% for wants, and 20% to savings.  With our current incomes and where we are living we really need to be diligent about budgeting
  • Make a dent in our debt – We currently have a lot of debt (two cars and a few school loans). I would like to focus on paying off these dents and possibly completely pay off one of our cars.
  • Tithe 10% to our church – With smart budgeting I know that we can build up for the small percentage that we currently give to our church all the way up to 10%.

Personal/Hobbies

  • Read more books for fun (shoot for one a month!) – I would really like to reduce the amount of time I spend in front of the TV. I’m hoping to fill my increased downtime with reading!
  • Practice my French and be better at reading and speaking it by the end of the year – I took French all throughout middle school and high school and I’ve always wanted to be fluent. I am determined that this will be the year that I really take the time to study (less T.V. will also free up study time).
  • Play golf with Henri more often than this past year – Henri picked up golf over the past 6 months and has really been enjoying it. I am not the greatest golfer in the world (read… awful!) so in 2014 I want to practice my golf at the driving range/putting green so that I am good enough to go out on the course with him.

Driving RangeWhat are some of your goals for 2014?

How did you celebrate last night?

6 thoughts on “2014 Goals

  1. I might have to copy your 50-30-20 budget. My husband and I are HORRIBLE at keeping a budget… we always have good intentions but are never disciplined with it.

    I am hoping to run 14 races in 2014, and also start keeping track of my mileage.

  2. Those are some awesome goals! Way over my head so I can’t wait to hear about your progress. One of mine is to finish a half marathon too – but no time aspirations. I’ll be happy if I just make it across that finish line.

  3. Pingback: Marathon Training – Beyond the Miles: HYDRATION | Will Run for Boston

  4. Pingback: A Look Back & A Glance Forward: January-February 2014 | Will Run for Boston

  5. Pingback: Conquering the Fear of Failure + BIG NEWS | Will Run for Boston

Leave a Comment Here!

