Boston Marathon Training has begun!

Happy Monday Everyone!

A few highlights from this weekend before we get to the good stuff…

Yesterday was my father-in-law’s birthday and Henri’s uncle brought him this Yard-of-Chocolate. He knows what’s up!

Yard of ChocolateI am so happy to have my puppies back! I think they missed us and each other very much, it’s nice to have our little family back together again!

Puppies in the hallway

Come play with us mommy!

Yesterday morning Henri and I had nutella-banana stuffed french toast for breakfast. I’ve made this many times over the past few months and it is quickly becoming one of my favorites! Its almost as good as a banana-nutella crepe – with about half as much work! 😉

Banana-Nutella Stuffed French Toast

Okay, so, onto the meat of this post.

Today marks exactly 15 weeks until the 118th Boston Marathon and the first day of my official training plan for the race. Its time to get to work!

days untilThis morning I went out for 9 easy miles to prepare myself for my first hard workout tomorrow – a 5 mile tempo at 6:40 pace – YIKES!

I worked with my boss/coach to put together the following training plan for Boston. This is what the next 16 weeks of my life training will look like.

I really hope you’re ready for a lot more running related posts…boston marathon training plan

FYI: Easy: > 7:30 l Medium: 7:00-7:30 l Marathon Goal Pace: 6:40

I am really excited to overshare about my marathon training, but in my years of running I have learned that there is much more to training than just running. Over the past few days I came up with a list of the many other important things that factor into good training.

  1. Sleep
  2. Nutrition
  3. Hydration
  4. Mid-run Fueling
  5. Dynamic Warm-ups
  6. Stretching/Foam-rolling
  7. Weight-Lifting
  8. Core Stability
  9. Ice Baths/Hot Tubs
  10. Skips
  11. Rest/Recovery
  12. Massage
  13. Yoga

During the next 15 weeks I’m going to be doing a mini-series called “Marathon Training – Beyond the Miles” where I will discuss each of these factors in detail. I’ll be starting this week with hydration – on Wednesday. Make sure you don’t miss out!

I’m looking forward to these next 15 weeks. BOSTON HERE I COME! 🙂

Anyone else training for Boston (or another spring marathon)?

Do you like to use a strict training schedule for a race or do you make it up as you go?

3 thoughts on “Boston Marathon Training has begun!

  1. Pingback: The Olympics Always Get to Me | Will Run for Boston

Leave a Comment Here!

