What I Ate Wednesday – Hangry!

Ever since I started my serious marathon training five weeks ago I have averaged 65+ miles per week. Running that kind of miles seriously revs my metabolism and I am literally hungry all.the.timeThis is not a good things because Lauren + hunger = a Hangry girl!

So to spare Henri of my hangry self, and of course to fuel my training correctly, I have been really working on trying to get as much food in me as possible throughout the day. I don’t keep a daily food journal (in the past that has led to disordered eating) but figured that keeping track of one whole day of eats would help me get a better grasp of my intake.

Since today is Wednesday I thought that I would join Jenn’s “What I Ate Wednesday” over at Peas & Crayons!

WIAWbutton

Here’s a look at my day in food during marathon training. (and yes, I was somehow still hungry when I went to bed, haha)!

Pre Run – 6 AM – 1/2 banana

Breakfast – 8 AM – Granola with the rest of the banana, strawberries and milk (1st bottle of water)

photo 3 (21)

Morning Hydration – 10:30 AM – A second bottle of water and some Gatorade (its amazing how many funny looks/comments you get from your co-workers when filling up two water bottles at the same time)

photo 5 (19)

Lunch – 12 PM – Chicken with a [massive] baked sweet potato and broccoli

photo 3 (22)

Afternoon Snack – 3 PM – Apple and granola bar with peanut butter

photo 1 (23)

Dinner – 6:30 PM – Turkey Butternut Squash Chili with avocado, cheese and a corn muffin

photo (21)Dessert – 8:30 PM – Chocolate ice cream

photo 2 (24)

What was the best thing that you ate yesterday?

Have you ever trained for a marathon? Were you really hungry during your training too?

11 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday – Hangry!

  1. Best thing I ate yesterday was tacos! Delicious 🙂 I’ve trained for a couple marathons and I was constantly hungry. I ended up carrying protein bars with me for when hunger cravings hit and I couldn’t make more substantial meals.

  2. I’ve never run a marathon but when my miles starts to climb to 45-60mpw, I literally can’t. stop. eating. It’s a serious issue haha but hey, our bodies need it! I need some marshmallows now with ice cream. Or food in general… I’m getting hungry.

  3. Training for half ironman- literally the food consumption is ridiculous. Lets not even talk about how much money I spend on groceries. I think the best thing I ate yesterday was a roasted veggie salad with goat cheese! It was then followed by nighttime oatmeal since that was not enough LOL! The oatmeal was good too.

  4. I’m about to start training for my first full marathon, and I am expecting my hunger to increase more than it already is (which seems like it should be impossible).

  5. I can totally relate on this one. Currently I am doing back-to-back long runs as part of my first 50 miler training and the hunger that accompanies that mileage is nothing short of amazing. Sometimes I feel as if I spend my entire workday eating and hydrating!!

  6. I’ve never marathon trained but I always get really hungry when hitting anything more than 9ish miles for half marathon training. I can only imagine running twice that far! I would be eating all the food.

  7. Pingback: Turkey-Butternut Squash Chili | Will Run for Boston

  8. Pingback: Turkey-Butternut Squash Chili | The Foodie Runner

Leave a Comment Here!

