What I Ate Wednesday – Pre-Race Fueling

Since nutrition is always a big focus of mine I generally don’t eat much differently the day before a race than I do any other day. However, I do make an extra effort to fuel properly so that I am at the top of my game come race time. Some things that I focus on the day before a race are…

  • Avoid foods that I know don’t always agree with my tummy – like beans, carrots, spicy foods, etc.
  • Stick with “plain” foods that settle easily.
  • Get in a lot of good quality carbs that will provide energy for the race
  • Make sure to get enough fuel but not too much – don’t want to feel overfull or heavy during a race!
  • Drink lots of water and Gatorade in order to stay hydrated

That being said, I wanted to share a snapshot with you of what I ate on Saturday, before the U-T Cal 1020! (A big thanks to Jenn for hosting this “What I Ate Wednesday”.)

[7:00 AM] Before my shake-out run I ate a banana.

[9:00 AM] After finishing my 7 easy miles I had a bowl of steel cut oatmeal with walnuts, brown sugar, and milk for breakfast.

photo 3 (36)

[12:30 PM] We were still on the road to San Diego at lunch time so we ate turkey sandwiches and apples that I had packed for lunch. (the sandwich was on whole wheat bread and had turkey, lettuce and tomato)

photo 4 (32)[3:30 PM] A quick snack after picking up my bib at the expo. This is seriously my favorite Nature Valley bar – it almost tastes like the chocolate Teddy Grahams.

photo 3 (37)

[6:45 PM] Dinner was at Cheesecake Factory because we had a gift card. I had a few pieces of the brown bread with butter and about half of this Fettuccine Alfredo with chicken and broccoli.

photo 3 (38)[8:30 PM] Even the day before a race I allow myself a little sweet treat. This weekend it was an M&M cookie while watching some Olympics before bed, because chocolate is the only right way to end the day! 🙂

photo 4 (34)

Have a great Wednesday! We’re halfway to the weekend already? Wooot!

Do you eat differently than normal the day before a race?

Any tips about how to fuel the day before a race?

What was the best thing you ate this weekend?

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday – Pre-Race Fueling

Leave a Comment Here!

