Butternut Squash Brussels Sprouts Gnocchi

In the haze of last week’s post marathon funk I totally forgot that I promised to share my new favorite recipe with you! But luckily I noticed and am bringing you the recipe today!

I came up with this gnocchi dish because I’ve been doing a lot of cooking for the fam since Henri and I moved back and one night this meal kind of just developed from what we had on hand!

When everyone’s home (including boyfriends and friends) there can be up to 8 people around for dinner so I like to make big one pot meals that are easy to make and will leave everyone satisfied! My trick for these meals is to stretch the main ingredient – in this case the gnocchi – by adding lots of veggies. If you take a close look at the bowl below you’ll see that there is almost more butternut squash and Brussels Sprouts in there than gnocchi! This recipe only has a few ingredients but is still very flavorful!

Butternut Squash Brussels Sprouts Gnocchi

photo 1 (91)

I really need to work on my food photography!

Makes: 5 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 package fresh gnocchi (When I made a double batch I used half normal gnocchi and half pumpkin gnocchi)
  • 1 medium butternut squash, cubed
  • 2 cups Brussels Sprouts, chopped
  • 4 Garlic Chicken Sausages, sliced
  • 1 TBSP butter
  • 1 TBSP flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • Olive Oil, Salt & Pepper as needed

Directions

  1. Cook gnocchi per directions on package, drain and set aside (mix with a little olive oil if needed to keep gnocchi from sticking).
  2. In a large pot, cook butternut squash, Brussels sprouts, and sausages in about 2 tsp of olive oil until browned and cooked through. Stir occasionally.
  3. To make the sauce, add flour and butter to a small sauce pan. Mix well until paste forms and starts to brown.
  4. Whisk milk in the saucepan until the mixture is smooth.
  5. Add cheese and salt & pepper and whisk constantly until cheese is completely melted and the sauce is smooth.
  6. When the Brussels sprout mixture and sauce is ready, pour the gnocchi and sauce into the large pot and mix well.
  7. Serve warm, topped with a little extra shredded Parmesan cheese!

Enjoy!

You can also make this with pasta instead of gnocchi. Rigatoni or Fusilli would both be great options for shapes because they both hold sauce really well!

_______________________________________________

p.s. Henri and I started doing P90X on Monday! We’ve both done it in the past and love it. Yesterday was Plyometrics – I forgot how hard that workout was… so much for my plan to run a few miles today. haha

photo 1 (92)

already feeling sore 5 mins after the workout!

Do you have any tricks when you’re cooking for a crowd? One(ish) pot meals and build-it-yourself buffets are my favorites!

Have you ever done P90X? Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Brussels Sprouts Gnocchi

  1. That gnocchi looks SO good. I love anything with Brussels sprouts in it, really. I feel like I always turn to taco night when cooking for a crowd, so that everyone can just put whatever they want on their own tacos. And everybody loves tacos I’m pretty sure.

Leave a Comment Here!

