My New Coach

I know it was just a few days ago that I let you guys all in on the fact that I was looking for someone to help me reach all of my big running goals but I already have really exciting news. As of this week I am working with my NEW COACH!

2016_US_Marathon_Trials_Project_-_Logo_Jpeg

As I’ve been telling my family and friends about hiring a coach I have gotten a lot of questions about it so here are the answers to a few FAQ’s about coaches!

Why did you hire a coach?

Like I’ve said before I have BIG goals. I want to get better than I’ve ever been before and I know that a coach is one of the best ways to help me get there! Even though I’ve been running for over 12 years there is still a lot I have to learn (especially about the marathon distance) and coaches make excellent teachers!

But you’re a coach so can’t you just coach yourself?

In all honesty I could coach myself, and that’s exactly what I’ve been doing for the past 2 years. I’ve done great off of my own training but now I’m ready to take things to the next level! I am also so busy with my full time job, my running clients and wife/fur mommy duties that it will be so nice to have one less thing to worry about.

How did you pick this particular coach? 

While price was definitely a concern so was coaching experience and results. With a $75/month price tag for his US Marathon Trials Project Coach Hadley definitely offered the best price for what he was offering. Also, he has been a runner for 30 years and a coach for 10 – talk about experience! And results? I found out about Coach Hadley through Carrie, Katie, and Alexa‘s blogs. They are all wicked speedy ladies that have been seeing great results under his training!

What are some of the other benefits of working with a coach?

Coaches help push you out of your comfort zone – which improves your overall performance. They can also help you work around and aches and pains by adjusting your plan – helping you prevent injury. Coaches motivate you, instill confidence in your training and racing abilities. Also, they are always there as someone that will be truely interested in hearing about your workouts – no more trying to get friends and co-workers to understand how amazing your tempo run was! 😉

What are you looking forward to most about working with a coach?

I’ve gotten a little peak at the next few months of my training and one of the things that I am most excited about is getting back on the track. I haven’t really done track workouts since college but I love them! I did 400m repeats on Monday this week and I just love how that workout made me feel – strong and fast!

What does your new training look like?

After our consultation my coach and I decided that we are going to test out a 14 day cycle (instead of the 10 day cycle I was thinking). I will have 5 stress workouts a cycle (intervals, hills, tempos, and long runs are all stress workouts) with 2 easy days in between each stress workout. I am really looking forward to testing out this kind of cycle. As soon as I get into the rhythm of it I will share all about it (I promise!!).

If you have any questions about coaching in general please contact me at willrunforboston@gmail.com I would love to chat! Also, if you are interested in working with me as your coach check out my coaching services!

19 thoughts on “My New Coach

  1. How exciting!! Now your running is going to be even FASTER.. I don’t need to worry about getting a coach since I have free ones for cross country and track! 🙂

  2. I’ve never really considered the idea of hiring a running coach, but I totally see why people do it! One of the biggest reasons people hire coaches/personal trainers etc. are because they push you out of your comfort zone – they work you past a point you’d probably work yourself. Congrats on finding one & good luck with your training!! 🙂

  3. Good luck on your running! I’ve heard great things about having a running coach. I would love to splurge on one to improve my running, but I have already run Boston and no where close to making any type of trials, so I think I’m good. I run because I enjoy it. I’m sure you will do great with your running goals!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Faves 5/22/14 | Running Southern

  5. Pingback: Why I’m Taking a Step Back – Training Summary: 7/13/2014 | Will Run for Boston

Leave a Comment Here!

