Sunday Summary – 5/25/2014

So… I ran a race today. I know, it sneaked up on me too but it actually went pretty well. Okay – it was the perfect way to cap off my first week of training with my new coach!

I ran the Boston Run to Remember 5 Miler (there was also a half marathon at the same time) and I was the first woman and 7th overall out of the 4,000 or so people that ran the 5. So, yeah that was cool! I also got to break tape for the first time in my life – also an awesome feeling. But more on that in a full recap later this week! 🙂

photo 5 (4)Overall, my week of training this week went really well – it included a track workout, a tempo run and a race (as mentioned above). I ran the most miles I have since the marathon and even got in a little fun strength training learning to chop wood from my dad.

photo 2 (7) photo 3 (7)Sunday Summary

5.19-5.25Monday – 8.5 mile track workout – 2 mile warm-up, 12x 400m w/ 200m jog [between 77-78 sec. per 400, last two at 75 and 74], 2 mile cool-down (6:57 average pace)

Tuesday – 7.25 mile easy @ 7:39 pace + 10 drills and 5 strides

Wednesday – 8 mile easy @ 7:21 pace + planks, push-ups and crunches

Thursday – 8 mile tempo workout – 2 mile warm-up, 4 mile tempo @ 6:12, 6:16, 6:07, 5:48, 2 mile cool-down (6:50 average pace)

Friday – 7 easy miles @ 7:21 pace + 15 mins core & abs

Saturday – 6 easy miles @ 7:07 pace + 10 drills and 5 strides

Sunday – RACE – 2 mile warm-up, 5 mile race in 29:57 [5:57 pace], 3 mile cool-down (6:54 pace overall)

Total Mileage: 55.2 miles   Average Weekly Pace: 7:09   Total 2014 miles: 1,180.3/3,000

After all that I am completely pooped, I could not be more excited that I have the day off from work tomorrow! Have a great rest of your Sunday!

 

9 thoughts on “Sunday Summary – 5/25/2014

  1. congratulations on the win!!! that’s so exciting! i can’t wait to hear the full story 🙂

  2. Pingback: We got into an argument after the gym… | Kristina's Blog About Running

Leave a Comment Here!

