Training Summary – 8/17/2014

At about 2:30 yesterday afternoon Henri and I found ourselves wondering how it was possible that the weekend was almost over. This weekend was the perfect combination of relaxing and busy. Lots of laundry, a date to one of my favorite restaurants in Boston, a Sunday morning race, the start of the EPL soccer season (and even a ManCity WIN!), reading my new Runner’s World Cookbook, and restarting Downtown Abbey from the beginning with my parents!

I will put up a full recap of the Falmouth Road Race later this week, but let’s just say it was very interesting, very tough, and I almost had my first DNF ever. Despite that it was a great event, the weather was amazing and I saw a lot of my friends and running idols so the overall experience was amazing! 🙂 Because of the race and since it took us FOR-EVER to get home from the Cape I never got my weekly training summary up yesterday so here it is for ya!

Training Summary: 8/17/2014

Monday – 6 miles @ 7:39 pace + core

Tuesday – AM: 30 mins yoga & stretching PM: 11 mile workout with NB Boston [3 mile warm-up, descending ladder of intervals on grass fields (7 mins, 6 mins, 5 mins, 4 mins, 3 mins, 2 mins & 1 min) with jogging rest equal to half of preceding interval, 2 mile cool-down] overall average @ 7:09 pace 

Wednesday – rest day

Thursday – 12 mile long run @ 7:31 pace + core

Friday – 7.5 miles @ 7:38 pace

Saturday – 6 miles @ 7:50 + pre-race preparations (stretching, roam rolling, etc)

Sunday – Falmouth Road Race [1 mile warm-up, 7 mile race, 2 mile cool-down] overall average @ 7:04 pace

Total Mileage: 52.79   Average Weekly Pace: 7:25   Total 2014 miles: 1,677.28/3,000

And since I literally have NO pictures from this weekend besides this one, here’s my new favorite photo of Laci. Sometimes I can’t tell if she is a dog or a teddy bear.

photo 1 (33)

From my Instagram <– follow me! 🙂

What do you think?


Did you have a busy or relaxing weekend?

If you raced how did you do?? 

4 thoughts on “Training Summary – 8/17/2014

  1. Not to busy of a weekend but it did involve “Planes 2 Fire & Rescue” and a decent Sunday 6 miler. I can’t wait to read your Falmouth race recap! Run Happy!!! 🙂

  2. Your dog is so cute! I’m sorry your race was rough, but how cool to be part of such a huge and great even like that one! Sounds like running with your new team is going great 🙂

  3. I raced… Well, ran Falmouth this weekend as well. First time ever. I do agree that it was tough! Lol… but all in all a good time was had. 🙂 Ihow cool is the color of the mug?!

    Busy weekend. They always go by way too fast!!

    Can’t wait to hear your recap!

  4. Weekends are always so short! And always so busy. We had a party for one of our friends, celebrating his book being published, so that was amazing. Writers and their friends are such interesting people! Still no racing (or running) for me, but I got to track a couple of friends, so that was vicarious fun.

Leave a Comment Here!

